2019 August 22 13:35

Arctic block of Far East Investment and Export Agency headed by Dmitry Fishkin

Far East Investment and Export Agency announces launching of its Arctic block focused on attraction of investors to the Northern territories of the Russian Federation with Dmitry Fishkin as its head.

Previously, Dmitry Fishkin held the post of Advisor to the Minister of Nature of the Russian Federation. Earlier, he was the Deputy Director of a Department at the Ministry of Economic Development.

“Arctic activities are among the crucial blocks of our work. This territory is the core resource potential of our country. New ports, new power facilities and new investment projects are being launched there. A principally new system to encourage inflow of investments is being created. The Ministry and the institutions focused on the development of the Far East are aimed at strengthening our team with those who never fears challenging tasks being ready to achieve a result”, emphasized Aleksandr Kozlov, Minister for the Development of the Russian Far East and Arctic.

Among the key activities of Dmitry Fishkin at his new post will be the attraction of investments. In particular, he is supposed to take part in the development of the investment strategy and regulations on strategic development of Russia’s Arctic zone.

“The portfolio of our Agency already includes a number of “Arctic projects” including those on the development of the Northern Sea Route. Now this work will be more consistent and efficient”, explained Leonid Petukhov, General Director of the Agency.

Russia’s Arctic lands have total area of roughly 3 million square km (18% of the entire territory of the Russian Federation), including 2.2 million square km of land, where approximately 2.5 million people reside. This figure amounts to less than 2% of the Russian population (146.8 million) and more than 54% of the total population of the entire Arctic (4.6 million). The land areas of Russia’s Arctic zone were demarcated under Decree No. 296 issued by Russian President Vladimir Putin on 2 May 2014. Per the document, Russia’s Arctic zone includes two Far Eastern regions of the Russian Federation of the Far Eastern Federal District: part of the Sakha Republic (Yakutia), all of the Chukotka Autonomous Area as well as the Murmansk Region, the Nenets Autonomous District, the Yamalo-Nenets Autonomous Region and the Vorkuta urban district municipality (Komi Republic). In addition, the Norilsk urban district, a number of territories in the Arkhangelsk Region, including the Arkhangelsk City municipality as well as lands and islands located in the Arctic Ocean were included in the Arctic zone.